News

Current stories

Above normal bushfire potential is predicted for much of Australia over the coming months, according to the first national assessment from climatologists, meteorologists and fire agency staff.
Many wildland firefighter deaths and injuries in Australia and overseas have resulted from firefighters being surprised and overtaken by a fast-moving fire - both on foot and in vehicles, in both grass and forest environments.
The mysteries of climate change are being explored across the high plains and mountain forests of Australia through a study trying to unravel the complex interaction among water yield, fire, drought and long term changes in climate.
Investigations into accidents or near miss events on the fireground mostly focus on finding out the details of what happened, with relatively little consideration given to the thoughts and mental processes driving the firefighters’ decisions.

Pages

In the media...

Melbourne University, Newsroom
Fri, 27/08/2010
ABC news
Thu, 26/08/2010
The Australian
Wed, 11/08/2010
Weekly Times
Thu, 17/06/2010
Australian Geographic
Thu, 17/06/2010
Science alert
Tue, 15/06/2010
ABC Rural
Mon, 31/05/2010
ABC Rural
Mon, 31/05/2010
ABC Goulburn Murray
Thu, 20/05/2010
The Australian
Wed, 07/04/2010
From the Minister for Environment & Climate Change
Fri, 12/03/2010
ABC South West Victoria
Wed, 03/03/2010
The Courier
Wed, 03/03/2010
The Sydney Morning Herald
Thu, 18/02/2010

Pages

Posted: 6 years 10 months ago

After 11 years, we are about to enter the last month of your Bushfire CRC. It has been an incredible journey since 2003.

For me, what has stood out the most, notwithstanding the ground breaking research, is the culture change the industry has undertaken throughout this period. At the heart of this has been the close partnership between the Bushfire CRC and AFAC. The...

Posted: 6 years 10 months ago

There is only a month left of the Bushfire CRC, but there is plenty of activity going on. The Research to Drive Change series has been launched, with two successful online forums held. Keep your eyes peeled to the...

Nathan Maddock's picture
Communications Officer