News

Current stories

Australia has about 250,000 volunteer firefighters but for the past 30 years memberships have been declining. Fire agencies fear that if the decline persists a shortage of volunteer firefighters may emerge that degrades the provision of fire services.
A unique survey following firefighting volunteers six months after recruitment has begun to provide the basis of better volunteer recruitment strategies.
The mallee and heath landscape of Ngarkat Conservation Park in south-eastern South Australia has been deliberately set alight in one of the largest and most comprehensive fire research exercises undertaken in Australia.
A perennial challenge in the management of fire is to strike a balance between the relative costs of bushfire mitigation, and the related losses incurred by the community.

Pages

In the media...

Melbourne University, Newsroom
Fri, 27/08/2010
ABC news
Thu, 26/08/2010
The Australian
Wed, 11/08/2010
Weekly Times
Thu, 17/06/2010
Australian Geographic
Thu, 17/06/2010
Science alert
Tue, 15/06/2010
ABC Rural
Mon, 31/05/2010
ABC Rural
Mon, 31/05/2010
ABC Goulburn Murray
Thu, 20/05/2010
The Australian
Wed, 07/04/2010
From the Minister for Environment & Climate Change
Fri, 12/03/2010
ABC South West Victoria
Wed, 03/03/2010
The Courier
Wed, 03/03/2010
The Sydney Morning Herald
Thu, 18/02/2010

Pages

Posted: 8 years 2 months ago

After 11 years, we are about to enter the last month of your Bushfire CRC. It has been an incredible journey since 2003.

For me, what has stood out the most, notwithstanding the ground breaking research, is the culture change the industry has undertaken throughout this period. At the heart of this has been the close partnership between the Bushfire CRC and AFAC. The...

Posted: 8 years 2 months ago

There is only a month left of the Bushfire CRC, but there is plenty of activity going on. The Research to Drive Change series has been launched, with two successful online forums held. Keep your eyes peeled to the...

Nathan Maddock's picture
Communications Officer